The Rabbit Hole & MaxxMusic present


Leisure McCorkle Band

Fri · May 12, 2017

Doors: 8:00 pm / Show: 9:00 pm

$12 adv/$15 dos

This event is 21 and over

21+ Valid ID required for entry into venue. (Under 18 permitted with parent - $5 Under 21 Surcharge at Door)

Accepted forms of ID: State Issued ID or Driver's License, Military ID, Passport.

Dillon Fence and Hobex frontman and singer songwriter solo artist Greg Humphreys steps away from his trusty acoustic for the Greg Humphreys Electric Trio 2016 debut, ”Lucky Guy”.

The album finds the critically acclaimed artist creatively invigorated. His accomplished and artistically intuitive bandmates simmer through a collection of sweetly soulful Americana and raucous roots rock that showcases Humphreys' elegant virtuosity and his heartfelt songwriting. The three piece will be sharing this intimate and infectious new album on tour this summer.

Music fans are familiar with Humphreys’ songs, voice and guitar from his years leading North Carolina faves Dillon Fence and Hobex. With songs influenced by the best in pop, funk, soul, R&B, and rock n' roll, you might find Greg Humphreys Electric Trio in the same idiosyncratic corner of the big Americana tent where you'd find Alabama Shakes, Chris Stapleton, Sharon Jones & the Dap Kings, or the North Mississippi Allstars.

The Electric Trio formed in 2014 in New York City. Drummer Keith Robinson brings Texas flavor, having toured and recorded with Marcia Ball and Charlie Robison. In demand bassist Matt Brandau has backed up Elvis Costello and Joan Osborne, among others. These seasoned southern transplants played over 130 live dates in their first two years, but they took their time to make a debut studio album.

Of the album Humphreys reveals: The Lucky Guy LP tells a story of a happy time in my life, I met an amazing woman, moved to NYC, had a son, and got married. This album is also a manifestation of our trio's musical relationship. Select highlights from the eight song release include the slow burn R&B track Crosstown, the burly blues rock instrumental Golden Bone, and the sunshine filled title track, Lucky Guy.
Leisure McCorkle Band
Leisure McCorkle Band
Formed in 1997, Charlotte, North Carolina’s Leisure McCorkle has been hailed by critics from Billboard to Amplifier and in between, the band released four albums between 1997-2002 featuring several songs on MTV’s first reality shows “The Real World” and “Road Rules.” This event sees the full Leisure McCorkle band back together on the heels of the release of their fifth album “5000 Light Years Beyond the Speed of Sound.”

Produced by longtime bass player and collaborator “Big” Mike Mitschele (Jolene, HardSoul Poets, Alternative Champs, and Funkenstein), the long awaited CD combines the best of experimental power pop treasures that listeners have come to expect from LM. Wearing their influences on their sleeves, McCorkle, Mitschele, guitarist Grainger Gilbert (Granger), and drummer Gary Guthrie (Spirit System, Elevator Action) take Costello/Frank Black infused post-wave three minute treasures in innovative sonic directions. On “5000 Light Years,” the band dives deep into their Manchester, Brit-pop influences, while preserving the dynamic songwriting that listeners have come to expect from Leisure McCorkle albums. Known for their “white hot” live stage show, the band will showcase new material with the classic songs from each of the LM albums.
Venue Information:
The Rabbit Hole
1801 Commonwealth Ave,
Charlotte, NC, 28205